1
2
1
2
The Paper Caper
The Paper Caper
The Paper Caper

16th Bibliophile Mystery

16th Bibliophile Mystery

Now available!

Now available!

San Francisco book-restoration expert Brooklyn Wainwright loves a good book festival except when murder is the main event in this thrilling new addition to the New York Times bestselling Bibliophile Mystery series.

San Francisco book-restoration expert Brooklyn Wainwright loves a good book festival except when murder is the main event in this thrilling new addition to the New York Times bestselling Bibliophile Mystery series.

Dressed to Drill
Dressed to Drill
Dressed to Drill

10TH FIXER-UPPER MYSTERY

10TH FIXER-UPPER MYSTERY

Coming May 2, 2023

Coming May 2, 2023

Contractor Shannon Hammer’s new project renovating an old church reveals some old sins when a body is found on the premises in the latest Fixer-Upper Mystery from the New York Times bestselling author Kate Carlisle.

Contractor Shannon Hammer’s new project renovating an old church reveals some old sins when a body is found on the premises in the latest Fixer-Upper Mystery from the New York Times bestselling author Kate Carlisle.

previous arrow
next arrow
“Fascinating, populated with engaging individuals and intriguing plotlines… A suspense-driven tale.”
Fresh Fiction on The Paper Caper
The world did not need one more lawyer. What we needed was somebody who knows what a knotting awl is and how to kill somebody with it.
Fine Books Magazine on If Books Could Kill
“A terrific read for those who are interested in the book arts and enjoy a counterculture foray and ensemble casts. Great fun all around!”
Library Journal on Murder Under Cover

“Like the Fixer-Upper movies it’s spawned on the Hallmark Channel, this popular series hits just the right notes: mystery, romance, historical detail.”
Kirkus Reviews on Premeditated Mortar

“Delightful… This long-running cozy series shows no signs of losing steam.”
Publishers Weekly on The Grim Reader
“Book lovers are in for a treat!”
Publishers Weekly on Buried in Books
“Perfect escapist cozy fare. Recommended for fans of Susan Wittig Albert and Rosemary Harris.”
Library Journal on A High-End Finish
“A riveting read that unfolds at a suspense-driven pace.”
Fresh Fiction on Little Black Book
5 Stars! “A killer who-dunnit with the right amount of humor and suspense.”
—Moonlight Rendezvous on Eaves of Destruction
5 Stars! “Suspenseful and intelligent. This is a fabulously well written cozy that grabs your attention and never lets go.”
—Open Book Society on Ripped from the Pages

Smart. Funny. Murder.

Welcome! I write two mystery series for Penguin Random House Books: the Bibliophile Mysteries starring bookbinder and rare book expert Brooklyn Wainwright, and the Fixer-Upper Mysteries, featuring contractor and Victorian home expert, Shannon Hammer. Three of the Fixer-Upper Mysteries have been brought to the small screen by Hallmark Movies & Mysteries. You can read free excerpts of all of my books. Get started on the Books page.

While you’re here, please be sure to sign up for my Newsletter. Members of my Newsletter List get access to The Secret Room where you’ll find extra treats like puzzles and contests, exclusive excerpts, cast of characters rundowns, photos, recipes, and more! Plus—and most-importantly—I’ll send you an email when I release a new book.

Author Kate Carlisle

Upcoming Events

2022

December 3, 2:00 p.m. local time
Christmas party, ugly sweater contest, and book signing at Poisoned Pen Bookstore
Scottsdale, AZ
Join Kate Carlisle, Jenn McKinlay and Paige Shelton for a festive afternoon filled with joy, laughter and books—and door prizes, too! Book signing will follow. If you can’t make it in person, you can preorder any books you’d like signed from Poisoned Pen. Just add a note to your order comments stating that you’d like a signed copy. Signed books make great Christmas gifts!

2023

August 30 – September 3
Bouchercon World Mystery Convention: Murder at the Marina
San Diego, CA
Kate Carlisle is a Guest of Honor, alongside fellow 2023 Guests of Honor David Baldacci, C.J. Box, Ann Cleeves, Naomi Hirahara, Dru Ann Love, and Jacqueline Winspear.
Tickets and information

Sign up for Kate's Newsletter:

The Secret Room

Sign up for my newsletter to gain access to all The Secret Room has to offer! Contests, exclusive excerpts, word searches, book cover puzzles, and freebies such as autographed bookplates are just some of the fun exclusives you’ll find.

Enter the Secret Room through one of these two doors…

I’m already on Kate’s Newsletter List

I want to sign up for Kate’s Newsletter List*

*or I’m not sure whether I’m already on it.